75th Wyndham Championship

posted on July 31, 2014 by C L


75thlogorelease1The Wyndham Championship is an American golfing classic. In its 75 years it has been called many things including the Greater Greensboro Open, the K-Mart Greater Greensboro Open, the Greater Greensboro Chrysler Classic, the Chrysler Classic of Greensboro, and finally since 2006 it has been known as the Wyndham Championship. The Wyndham Championship is one of the oldest events on the PGA Tour and the upcoming tournament is the 75th renewal of North Carolina’s oldest professional golf event. Isn’t that great?!

This championship began its course in 1938 by alternating between the Starmount Forest and Sedgefield Country Clubs. However after the 1960 tournament, the harsh aftermath of the winter conditions at Starmount were too much too handle and the tournament was moved to Sedgefield permanently until 1976. In 1976 it moved to Forest Oaks. In 2008 the Wyndham Championship moved back to Sedgefield Country Club and became the only regular-season event on the PGA TOUR to be played on a course originally designed by Donald Ross.

Along with its reach history of location, the Wyndham Championship has celebrated many famous victories. These include, but are not limited to Patrick Reed, Rocco Mediate, Sandy Lyle, Raymond Floyd, Sam Snead, and Byron Nelson.

The 2014 Wyndham Championship will be held at Sedgefield Country Club from August 11-17. For more information on this year’s event please visit their website.